我們學校

學校前面的巴克羅夫特小學巴克羅夫特小學是一所社區學校,毗鄰充滿活力的哥倫比亞派克走廊。 巴克羅夫特擁有一個文化和語言多元化的社區,目前代表來自世界各地的 24 個國家。 校訓是“努力工作。 聰明點。 玩得開心。 善待。” 通過響應式課堂方法,教職員工確保每個孩子都是學校社區的重要成員,並滿足孩子的學業和社會情感需求。 額外的資源使小組教學成為個性化和差異化的學生學習的核心。 我們的一些學校傳統包括每月一次的 Barcroft Reads、國際之夜、學術家長教師團隊之夜、STEAM 和識字之夜。 我們依靠強大而活躍的 PTA 以及來自學校社區網絡的支持,並為成為巴克羅夫特家庭中的一個隨時準備互相幫助而感到自豪。 巴克羅夫特以前是一所全年開放的學校,有不同的日曆。 但是,從 2021-22 學年開始,Barcroft 將遵循傳統的 APS 校歷。

我們的使命

巴克羅夫特小學是一個多元化的社區,致力於培養終身學習者,他們準備成為負責任和富有成效的全球公民。

我們的信念

Barcroft Elementary擁抱整個孩子並不斷學習。 我們授權學生設定高期望,關愛社區並成為獨立的問題解決者。 通過積極的參與和協作,我們努力追求卓越的學術成就。 我們重視社區和家庭,並與他們一起為所有人創造一個開放的包容性環境。

歷史

巴克羅夫特小學最初於 1925 年開學,作為一所小學設施,比阿靈頓的任何其他公立學校都更長時間、持續地為社區服務。 學校擁有自豪的畢業生傳統,他們與家人一起返回,分享與阿靈頓過去另一個時代的聯繫。 它為學生服務,經歷了大蕭條、二戰、嬰兒潮、廢除種族隔離、六十年代的動亂、七十年代對權力和愛國主義的重新定義以及八十年代的重新劃分。社區和學校是以約翰·伍爾弗頓·巴克羅夫特博士的名字命名。 巴克羅夫特博士於 1848 年來到弗吉尼亞州,並首先在我們縣界線外的福爾摩斯河上的哥倫比亞派克島上定居。 該地區目前是費爾法克斯縣的巴克羅夫特湖社區。 從第二次 Bull Run 戰役(馬納薩斯)返回的聯邦軍隊嚴重損壞了 Barcroft 博士的工廠和家,以至於 Barcroft 博士返回新澤西,直到州之間的戰爭結束。 巴克羅夫特於 1880 年返回弗吉尼亞,重建了麵粉廠和其他一些成為一個小社區的房屋。 他不僅是一名醫生,而且還發明了一種挖溝機和疏浚機,其原理已被納入我們當今的一些設備中。該社區有 10 個準備上學的小孩,但太小了,無法穿過阿靈頓森林到了 Glencarlyn School,決定開辦自己的學校。 這是 1906 年在他們的老師伊迪絲費爾法克斯夫人的家中建立的。第一年入學人數激增,1908 年社區在南布坎南街 800 號建了一座建築,作為教堂、社區中心和學校。 巴克羅夫特學校和公民聯盟,正如它的名字一樣,舉辦了許多籌款活動,學校董事會在那裡租用了空間,直到一座單獨的四室教學樓建成。這座以巴克羅夫特博士命名的新建築於 1925 年開放,招生65 個孩子。 Barcroft 博士的照片安裝於 1927 年。1945 年,隨著社區的發展,又增加了 1945 個房間。 5 年晚些時候增加了一個圖書館和一個帶有六間教室、自助餐廳和一個多功能室的新翼,還有 1975 英畝的操場。 1985 年的另一個變化是體育館、開放空間和通道。 反映時代不斷變化的需求,1987 年為不斷變化的學生檔案的需求帶來了封閉的教學空間。 XNUMX 年秋季人口激增,增加了兩間便攜式教室。

Our School

Barcroft Elementary from the front of the schoolBarcroft Elementary is a neighborhood school located next to the vibrant Columbia Pike corridor. Barcroft boasts of a culturally and linguistically diverse community, currently representing 24 countries from around the world. The school motto is “Work Hard. Get Smart. Have Fun. Be Kind.” It is through a Responsive Classroom approach that the faculty and staff ensure that each child is a significant member of the school community and that the child’s academic and socio-emotional needs are met. Additional resources allow small group instruction to be the core of student learning that is personalized and differentiated. Some of our school traditions include monthly Barcroft Reads, International Night, Academic Parent Teacher Team Nights, STEAM, and Literacy Nights. We count on a strong and active PTA and the support from the Communities in School network and take pride in being one Barcroft family, ready to help one another. Barcroft was previously a year-round school operating on a separate calendar; however, starting with the 2021- 22 school year, Barcroft will follow the traditional APS school calendar.

Our Mission

Barcroft Elementary school is a diverse community dedicated to developing lifelong learners who are prepared to be responsible and productive global citizens.

Our Vision

Barcroft Elementary embraces the whole child and continuous learning. We empower our students to set high expectations, care for their community, and be independent problem solvers. Through active participation and collaboration, we strive for academic excellence. We value our community and families and work with them to create an open-minded and inclusive environment for all.

Our History

Originally opened in 1925, Barcroft Elementary School has had longer, continuous service to the community as an elementary facility than any other public school in Arlington. The school has a proud heritage of graduates who return with families to share in its ties to another era in Arlington’s past. It has served students through the ravages of the Depression, World War II, the Baby Boom, Desegregation, the unrest of the Sixties, the redefinition of power and patriotism of the Seventies, and the redistricting of the Eighties.The community and the school are named for Dr. John Woolverton Barcroft.  Dr. Barcroft came to Virginia in 1848 and first settled on Columbia Pike beyond our county line at Holmes Run. This area is presently the Lake Barcroft community in Fairfax County. Federal Troops returning from the Second Battle of Bull Run (Manassas) damaged Dr. Barcroft’s mill and home so badly that Dr. Barcroft returned to New Jersey until after the war between the states.Dr. Barcroft returned to Virginia in 1880 and rebuilt the flour mill and a number of other homes which became a small community. He was not only a physician, but he also invented a ditching and dredging machine, the principles of which are incorporated in some of our present day equipment.The community, with 10 young children ready for school, but too small to walk through Arlington Forest to Glencarlyn School, decided to start its own school. This was established in the home of Mrs. Edith Fairfax, their teacher, in 1906. The first year enrollment swelled, and in 1908 the community erected a building at 800 South Buchanan Street to serve as church, community center, and school. The Barcroft School and Civic League, as it was called, held many fundraisers, and the School Board rented space there until a separate four-room school building was completed.The new building, named for Dr. Barcroft, opened in 1925 with an enrollment of 65 children. Dr. Barcroft’s picture was installed in 1927. In 1945, as the community grew, nine more rooms were added. A library and a new wing with six classrooms, cafeteria, and a multipurpose room were added later in 1945, as were 5 acres of playground. Yet another change came in 1975 with a gymnasium and open space and access. Reflecting the changing needs of the times, 1985 brought closed instructional spaces for the needs of an ever-changing student profile. The spurt in population growth in the fall of 1987 brought the addition of two portable classrooms.