讀寫

讀寫

英語語言藝術(ELA)致力於教授英語讀寫能力,主要表現為有效閱讀,書寫,聽和說的能力。 在以下情況下,可以找到描述教與學這些技能的年級期望的標準和目標: 弗吉尼亞的英語學習標準.

阿靈頓公立學校的ELA計劃旨在培養具有戰略意義的讀者,有效的作家,有說服力的演講者和批判性思想家的學生。 ELA辦公室認為,所有兒童都可以學習精通閱讀,表達能力強的語言,並從事更高層次的演講。

  • 早期小學(preK-2年級)的重點是基礎讀寫能力的發展和掌握。 注重語音意識,語音,詞彙發展,流利度和理解力的循證教學將優先滿足學生在閱讀和寫作習得初期的需求。
  • 小學高年級(3-5年級)的重點在所有內容領域從學習轉移到閱讀學習。 學生以他們的基本閱讀技能為基礎,並逐漸成為熟練的讀者和作家。

識字是全部門的優先事項,小學教師採用新方法來幫助我們的學生成為更精通的讀者。 英語語言藝術系改變了教學模式,更加明確和系統地教授基礎技能和語音。 下面的視頻重點介紹了識字教學和教師用來提高閱讀能力的策略。 它是在巴克羅夫特拍攝的,所以你會看到一些熟悉的面孔。


巴克羅夫特的閱讀團隊

科納奇奧女士—— amanda.cornacchio@apsva.us

艾靈頓女士—— jennifer.ellington@apsva.us

庫拉斯女士– erica.kulas@apsva.us

Reading and Writing

Reading and Writing

English Language Arts (ELA) seeks to teach English language literacy skills, primarily expressed in the ability to effectively read, write, listen, and speak. Standards and objectives that describe grade-level expectations for teaching and learning these skills are found within the state of Virginia’s English Standards of Learning.

The Arlington Public Schools ELA program seeks to develop students who are strategic readers, effective writers, engaging speakers, and critical thinkers. The ELA Office believes all children can learn to read skillfully, write expressively, and engage in higher-level discourse.

  • The focus in early elementary (grades preK-2) is the development and mastery of foundational literacy skills. Evidence-based instruction that emphasizes phonological awareness, phonics, vocabulary development, fluency, and comprehension is prioritized to meet the needs of students in the early stages of reading and writing acquisition.
  • The focus in upper elementary (grades 3-5) shifts from learning to read to reading to learn across all content areas. Students build on their foundational reading skills and become increasingly proficient readers and writers.

Literacy is a division-wide priority, and elementary teachers embracing new approaches to help our students become more proficient readers. The English Language Arts Department has shifted its model to teach foundational skills and phonics more explicitly and systematically. The video below highlights literacy instruction and the strategies teachers are using to strengthen reading proficiency. It was filmed at Barcroft, so you will see some familiar faces.


Barcroft’s Reading Team

Ms. Cornacchio – amanda.cornacchio@apsva.us

Ms. Ellington – jennifer.ellington@apsva.us

Ms. Kulas – erica.kulas@apsva.us