英語學習者

在 Barcroft,我們通過在我們學校提供 EL(英語學習者)課程來為來自不同語言和文化背景的學生提供服務。 EL 學生可以通過多種方式獲得服務。 學生會根據他們的語言需求通過拉出和/或包容方式獲得指導。 我們所有的老師都獲得了英語作為第二語言的教學認證。

EL指令

  • 確保英語學習者(EL)達到英語水平,以發展高水平的學術成就。
  • 協助 EL 達到所有學生都應達到的 APS 學術內容標準:APS 課程、弗吉尼亞學習標準 (SOL); 以及聽力、口語、閱讀和寫作方面的世界級教學設計和評估 (WIDA) 英語語言能力標準 (K-12)。
  • 基於研究,使用了各種將語言和內容整合在一起的方法和最佳實踐。

誰收到EL指令?

基於學生的英語水平,K-12 年級的進入、進步和退出標準。 EL 教學是在獲得父母許可的情況下向來自不同文化和語言背景的學生提供的,並且通過測試被確定為需要英語語言能力和理解方面的幫助,以提高他們在課堂上的學術能力。 該指導是為英語水平相對較高且接受 EL 支持的學生量身定制的,或者是為被確定為具有初級或中級英語水平並接受 EL 幫助的學生量身定制的。 如需更多信息,請聯繫我們的總部或 APS 英語學習者辦公室。

我們的 EL 團隊

西卡拉女士—— katherine.cicala@apsva.us

多恩女士—— 珍妮特.多恩@apsva.us

詹姆斯先生—— james.hainer@apsva.us

昆卡女士—— elsie.kuncar@apsva.us

路易莎女士—— luisa.echevarria@apsva.us

English Learners

At Barcroft, we serve students from diverse linguistic and cultural backgrounds by providing the EL (English Learners) program at our school. EL students receive services in a variety of ways. Students receive instructions through pull-out and/or inclusion based on their language needs. All of our teachers are certified in Teaching English as a Second Language.

EL Instruction

  • Ensures that English learners (EL) attain English proficiency in order to develop high levels of academic achievement.
  • Assists EL in meeting APS academic content standards that all students are expected to achieve: APS curriculum, Virginia Standards of Learning (SOL); as well as World-Class Instructional Design and Assessment (WIDA) English Language Proficiency Standards (K-12) in Listening, Speaking, Reading and Writing.
  • Is research-based using a variety of methods and best practices that integrate language and content.

Who Receives EL Instruction?

Criteria for entry, progress, and exit based on student’s level of English proficiency, grades K-12. EL instruction is given with parental permission to students who are from diverse cultural and linguistic backgrounds, and were identified through testing as needing help with English language proficiency and understanding to enhance their academic capabilities in the classrooms. This instruction is tailored either for students with relatively advanced English proficiency who receive EL support or for students identified as having beginning or intermediate English proficiency who receive EL help. For more information, please contact our Main Office or the APS Office of English Learners.

Our EL Team

Ms. Cicala – katherine.cicala@apsva.us

Ms. Dorn – janet.dorn@apsva.us

Mr. James – james.hainer@apsva.us

Ms. Kuncar – elsie.kuncar@apsva.us

Ms. Luisa – luisa.echevarria@apsva.us